Graduate Center Leadership Awards

Every year, the Graduate Center celebrates excellence in graduate and professional student leadership through the Graduate Center Leadership Awards

For the 2020-2021 year, the Graduate Center Center received close to 50 applications for nine awards that fall into three award categories: Event Awards (awarded to a group), Graduate and Professional Group Awards, Graduate and Professional Leadership Awards (for individuals). Winners and honorable mentions were announced at a virtual ceremony which took place on April 20, 2021 and included:

Event Awards

Excellence in Interdisciplinary Collaboration: Graduate Professional Council (GPC), Graduate Student Senate (GSS), and the Association of Graduate Engineering Students (AGES) for hosting the annual Holiday Party.

Cross-Cultural Competency/Communications: Graduate Professional Students Advisory Council (GPAC) for White Allyship

Group Awards

Best Practices: Graduate Students Promoting Science, Policy and Research (ProSPER)

Honorable Mention: The Biotechnology and Life Sciences Advising (BALSA) Group

Inclusive and Equitable Community Building: Graduate Professional Students Advisory Council (GPAC) and the Association of Gender Minority and Women Graduate Students (GeMWGS)

Professional Development Programming: InPrint

Social Programming: Graduate Professional Council (GPC)

Honorable Mention: Chinese Students and Scholars Association (CSSA)

Individual Awards

Rising Star, Master’s student: Louis Damani Jones

Rising Star, Doctoral student: Ananya Benegal (Honorable Mention, Lydia Zhong)

Distinguished Leaders, Master’s student : Adrian Gonazeles and Ebuwa Evbuoma

Distinguished Leaders, Doctoral student: Marleigh Anderson, Andy Daniel, Tyler Gahrs, Marina Gross, Rachel Johnston, Emma Merrigan, Juan Andrés Mata, Gabrielle Pfund, and Jennifer Sun.